## Committee No. 9 BOARD FOR MINISTERIAL EDUCATION

Resolution No. 1

Reference: Subject:	RTD pp. 72, 79, 90, 93 Ministry Recognition and Thanks			
WHEREAS	1)	Prof. John Schuetze (WLS) celebrated his $40^{\text{th}}$ anniversary in the ministry; and		
WHEREAS	2)	Prof. Paul Wendland (WLS) will be retiring following 2022-23 school year after serving 43 years in public ministry; and		
WHEREAS	3)	In 2019-20, Prof. Paul Bases (MLC), Prof. William Pekrul (MLC), Prof. Mark Zarling (MLC) celebrated their 40 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in the ministry; in 2020-21, Prof. Cheryl Loomis (MLC), Prof. James Pope (MLC), Prof. Mark Tacke (MLC) celebrated their 40 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in the ministry; in 2021-2022, Prof. Robert Klindworth (MLC), Prof. Douglas Lange (MLC), Prof. Thomas Nass (MLC), Prof. James Unke (MLC), celebrated their 40 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in the ministry; and		
WHEREAS	4)	In 2019-20, Prof. Peter Baganz (MLC) celebrated his 25 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in the ministry; in 2020-21, Prof. Greg Diersen (MLC), Prof. Lori Unke (MLC), and Prof. Jennifer Krause (MLC) celebrated their 25 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in the ministry; and in 2021-22, Prof. Theodore Klug (MLC) celebrated his 25 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in the ministry; and		
WHEREAS	5)	Prof. Lawrence Lotito (MLC) retired from service in the public ministry at the conclusion of the 2018-19 school year, Prof. Mark Zarling (MLC) retired from the public ministry at the end of the 2019-20 school year; Prof. Thomas Hunter (MLC), Prof. James Pope (MLC), Prof. John Schmidt (MLC), Prof. Paul Tess (MLC), retired from the public ministry at the end of the 2020-21 school year; Prof. Paul Bases (MLC), Prof. David Bauer (MLC), Prof. Daryl Hanneman (MLC), Prof. Cheryl Loomis (MLC), and Prof. Steven Thiesfeldt (MLC) have retired from service in the public ministry at the end of the 2021-2022 school year; and		
WHEREAS	6)	Prof. Leonard Proeber (MLS) retired from the public ministry at the end of the 2020-2021 school year; and		
WHEREAS	7)	Prof. Marcus Bode (MLS) has retired from the public ministry at the end of the 2021-2022 school year; and		

WHEREAS	8)	Prof. Steve Ehlke (LPS) and Prof. Tom Lindloff (LPS) have retired at the end of the 2021-2022 school year; therefore, be it					
		e thank the Lord of the Church for the gift of these faithful servants ank them for their service to his kingdom.					
Resolution No	o. 2						
Reference: Subject:	-	D pp. 31, 76-88 LC Tuition Assistance					
WHEREAS	1)	enrollment at MLC continues to be on a downward trend; and					
WHEREAS	2)	it is becoming increasingly difficult for MLC to be competitive with room, board, and tuition costs in comparison with other institutions of higher education; and					
WHEREAS	3)	MLC students are graduating with an average debt of about \$26,000; and					
WHEREAS	4)	MLC continues to make great strides in the area of financial literacy and the reduction of student debt; and					
WHEREAS	5)	the percentage of WELS vacancies has exceeded synod goals adopted in 2017; and					
WHEREAS	6)	the MN District agrees that continued encouragement and financial assistance be made within our congregations, schools, and homes for future called worker candidates; therefore, be it					
budge			ne Synod in convention vote to substantially increase its annual eted subsidy to support Martin Luther College, further reducing nt costs.				
Tim Denney, Chair Stephen Schmiel, Secretary William King Seth Georgson Rodney Pudell			Dan Gawrisch Tyson Zarnstorf Jeff Weichmann Jim Unke James Brohn	Kirk Kratovil Bob Tews Marcus Hunke Dan Pritzl David Briedlung Robin Kramer Luke Wegner David Luepke Larry Holtz Gary Stiller Randy Kuznicki Gene Slettedahl			

Darwin Tree