## Committee No. 12 SPECIAL MATTERS

Reference: RTTD, pp. 4 & 6-11

Subject: Triennial Convention Proposal

WHEREAS 1) The Conference of Presidents has requested feedback from our district concerning a proposal to change from a biennial rotation for synod convention

to a triennial rotation; and

2) the current system of a biennial convention has served our synod well for WHEREAS

many years; and

WHEREAS 3) changing to a triennial convention presents challenges for the grassroots

decision-making of our synod; and

WHEREAS 4) changing to a triennial convention will afford fewer opportunities to called

workers and congregations to participate and engage in the fellowship and

camaraderie of the Synod Convention; and

WHEREAS 5) moving to a triennial schedule for the Youth Rally would deprive some of our

youth of the opportunity to go to two Youth Rallies instead of one; and

6) there is a concern that moving to a triennial convention would create longer WHEREAS

planning cycles for synod budgets, creating difficulties for budgetary

forecasting; and

WHEREAS 7) the proposal was neither recommended nor discouraged by the Conference of

Presidents; therefore, be it

Resolved. a) that the Minnesota District recommends that the proposal as outlined in the

RTTD be refused; and be it further

Resolved. b) the current arrangement of biennial synod conventions be retained; and be it

finally

Resolved, c) any new iterations of the proposal address the concerns outlined in this

resolution.

Pastor Darren Green, Chairman

Pastor Adam Pilarski, Secretary

## **Pastors**

Pastor Daniel Schmidt
Pastor John Stelljes
Pastor Steven
Waldschmidt
Pastor Aaron Jensen

Teachers
Gabriel Plocher
David Tess
Daniel Bredendick
Greg Holzhueter
Luke Dorn
Todd Russ

Laymen
Ralph Malz
Jeff Boyce
Kevin Issendorf
Denis Becker
Robin Kramer
Todd Zwart

Kenneth E. Ebert Kirk Kratovil Larry Holst